A specialised real estate company

Selectirente is a property company specialised in commercial leasehold property, focusing on city centre premises and, to a lesser extent, peripheral areas.

Created in 1997 on the initiative of real estate professionals, Selectirente operates a real estate business consisting in acquiring and managing commercial property assets with a view to leasing them, in France and, marginally, abroad. These rental assets are rented to national retail brands (Saint-Gobain, Maisons du Monde, Carrefour, Picard Surgelés, Lidl, amongst others), proximity services (bank branches, real estate agencies, temporary employment agencies, etc.) and independent traders.

Selectirente has a property portfolio with an appraised value of €312m excluding fees at 31 October 2019. The assets, 67.1% of which are located in Paris and the Paris region, comprise over 383 rental units.

The company seeks to enhance and develop its property assets by leveraging the expertise of Sofidy, to which it has delegated the full management of its portfolio. It also aims to manage and enhance its existing portfolio and to continue expanding in the French and European commercial property market.

Global strategy

The company’s strategic objective is to enhance and develop its portfolio of commercial property in city centres and peripheral areas. This strategy is based on an active policy of maintenance and enhancement of its property portfolio, dynamic lease management, and the ability to identify and carry out coherent investment projects. For this purpose, Selectirente relies on Sofidy’s expertise and capabilities in commercial property and in sourcing commercial assets meeting the investment criteria.

In a fast-changing retail market, the Company has moved its model towards a two-pronged growth strategy. The primary avenue of growth will continue to focus mainly on city-centre retail, Sofidy and Sélectirente’s legacy expertise. This will be supplemented by a second strategy, more opportunistic and value-creating, focusing on the phenomenon of metropolisation.

Primary focus on inner-city retail

The Company confirms a main investment focus based on Sofidy’s legacy expertise in traditional retail. The current portfolio, which is set to grow further, offers the Company’s shareholders recurring and secure returns over the long term and provides a solid basis for diversification. The Company is confident in the robustness of its assets and in the strength of the traditional city-centre retail sector in the major metropolitan areas, which it sees as resilient in a changing market environment.

Europe’s major cities, with their historical, cultural and artistic centres, have a natural attractiveness and still have significant tourism potential, further fuelled by strong structural trends that are favourable to brick-and-mortar retail and offer resistance to dematerialisation: metropolisation, population ageing, the shift from private car use, the revival of the convenience format (food stores, body care, personal services) and the need for new venues for hospitality and conviviality (hotels, bars, cafés, restaurants).

By way of illustration, between 2014 and 2017, Paris, the Company’s main target market, experienced more than 600 bar and restaurant openings, more than 300 openings of specialised food stores and close to 200 boutiques specialising in body care. This trend, which the Company has been analysing for several years, further underpins this strategic development focus (source: APUR 2017 study).

Against this backdrop, the Company will be able to continue focusing on premium addresses, which, in addition to being traditional points of sale, are becoming more of a showcase for brands, providing an exclusive customer experience. The Company will also be able to seize the opportunities that will arise from market developments in keeping with its DNA, by investing in major French and European cities.

A second, more opportunistic growth avenue

The Company intends to develop a second, complementary strategy, more opportunistic and value-creating, focusing on the phenomenon of metropolisation. This second avenue corresponds to a strong conviction based on the increasing densification of large cities and the attractiveness of a number of cities that are central in their region or tourist destinations.

This phenomenon of metropolisation stems from both demographic and economic vitality trends that redefine the quality of the location, a fundamental criterion of Sélectirente’s investment approach.

Compliance with this strict criterion of location brings to the fore several diversification opportunities for the Company:

  • Commercial mix: in addition to traditional street-level stores in city centres, the Company will be able to position itself more on other types of urban retail outlets (shopping malls or shopping centres);
  • Complex situations: the Company will be able to position itself on opportunities offering potential for value creation with assets to be reworked via restructuring, takeovers of business goodwill or co-ownership issues to be resolved;
  • Sectoral mix: in addition to street-level stores, the Company will be able to position itself on entire buildings comprising mixed hotel, office and residential spaces with a view to creating value in the medium term by selling, where applicable, the non-commercial portion of the acquired buildings;
  • The Company will be able to position itself upstream in property development operations, e.g. the development of new districts or the repositioning of railway stations; and
  • The Company will be able to harness the development of small urban logistics, driven by the boom in pick-up and pedestrian drive concepts and the growth in e-commerce, as well as small peri-urban logistics (last mile logistics).

Une société foncière spécialisée dans l’immobilier

SELECTIRENTE est une société foncière spécialisée dans l’immobilier de murs de commerces prioritairement de centre-ville et dans une moindre mesure de périphérie.

Créée en 1997 à l’initiative de professionnels de l’immobilier, SELECTIRENTE exerce une activité patrimoniale consistant à acquérir et à gérer, en vue de les louer, des actifs immobiliers commerciaux en France et, de manière marginale, à l’étranger. Ces actifs locatifs sont loués à des enseignes de distribution nationale (Groupe Saint-Gobain, Maisons du Monde, Carrefour, Sandro, Picard surgelés, Lidl…), des services de proximité (agences bancaires, immobilières, intérim, …) et à des commerçants indépendants.

Situé à 67,1 % à Paris et en région parisienne, le patrimoine de SELECTIRENTE, d’une valeur expertisée de 312 M€ hors droits au 31 octobre 2019 est constitué de plus de 383 unités locatives.

La Société a vocation à valoriser et à développer son patrimoine immobilier en s’appuyant sur le savoir-faire de la société SOFIDY à qui elle a délégué la gestion complète de son patrimoine. Elle a également pour ambition de gérer et de valoriser son patrimoine actuel et de poursuivre son développement sur le marché de l’immobilier commercial en France et en Europe.

Stratégie globale

La Société a pour volonté stratégique la valorisation et le développement de son patrimoine commercial de centre-ville et de périphérie. Cette stratégie repose sur une politique active d’entretien et de valorisation de son patrimoine, une gestion dynamique des baux, et une capacité à identifier et à réaliser des projets d’investissement cohérents et créateur de valeur. Pour cela SELECTIRENTE s’appuie sur le savoir faire et les compétences de SOFIDY en matière d’immobilier commercial et sur ses capacités de « sourcing » d’actifs commerciaux correspondant à ses critères d’investissement.

Face à un marché du commerce en pleine évolution, la Société a fait évoluer son modèle vers une stratégie de croissance duale. Le premier axe de développement restera centré à titre principal sur le commerce de centre-ville, savoir-faire historique de SOFIDY et de SELECTIRENTE. Cet axe sera accompagné d’une seconde stratégie plus opportuniste et créatrice de valeur, centrée sur le phénomène de métropolisation.

Un premier axe centré sur les commerces de centre-ville

La Société confirme un axe d’investissement à titre principal qui repose sur le savoir-faire historique de SOFIDY dans le commerce traditionnel. Le portefeuille actuel, qui sera amené à croître davantage, offre aux actionnaires de la Société un rendement récurrent et sécurisé sur le long terme et constitue une base solide de diversification immobilière. La Société est confiante dans la solidité de ses actifs et dans celle du secteur du commerce traditionnel de centre-ville des grandes métropoles qu’elle juge résilient dans un contexte de marché en mutation.

L’attractivité naturelle des grandes villes européennes, pôles historiques, culturels et artistiques et disposant encore d’importants potentiels touristiques, se nourrit également de tendances structurelles fortes, favorables au commerce physique et offrant une résistance à la dématérialisation, notamment : la métropolisation, le vieillissement de la population, l’abandon de la voiture, le retour de la proximité (alimentaire, soins du corps, services à la personne) ou le besoin de nouveaux lieux d’accueil et de convivialité (hôtellerie, bars, cafés, restaurants).

A titre d’exemple, le marché parisien qui est la cible première de la Société, a connu entre 2014 et 2017 plus de 600 ouvertures de bars et restaurants, plus de 300 ouvertures de magasins alimentaires spécialisés et près de 200 boutiques spécialisées dans le soin du corps. Cette tendance, analysée depuis plusieurs années par la Société, vient conforter cet axe de développement stratégique (source : étude APUR 2017).

Dans ce contexte, la Société pourra continuer de s’intéresser aux adresses prime, qui, en plus d’être des points de vente traditionnels, deviennent davantage des vitrines de la marque et des lieux d’expérience-client. En outre, la Société pourra saisir les opportunités qui découleront des évolutions du marché dans le respect de son ADN, en investissant dans les grandes métropoles françaises et européennes.

Un second axe de développement plus opportuniste

La Société entend développer une seconde stratégie complémentaire, plus opportuniste et créatrice de valeur, centrée sur le phénomène de métropolisation. Ce second axe correspond à une conviction forte qui s’appuie sur la densification croissante des grandes métropoles et sur l’attractivité de certaines villes centrales dans leur région ou touristiques.

Ce phénomène de métropolisation s’appuie sur des évolutions à la fois démographiques et de vitalité économique qui redéfinissent la qualité de l’emplacement, critère fondamental de la démarche d’investissement de SELECTIRENTE.

Dans le respect de ce critère strict d’emplacement, plusieurs opportunités de diversification ressortent pour la Société :

  • La mixité commerciale : à côté des commerces traditionnels en pieds d’immeubles du cœur de ville, la Société pourra se positionner davantage sur d’autres types de commerces en milieu urbain (galeries commerciales ou centres commerciaux) ;
  • Les situations complexes : la Société pourra se positionner sur des opportunités offrant un potentiel de création de valeur avec des actifs à travailler via des restructurations, des rachats de fonds de commerce ou des sujets de copropriété à résoudre ;
  • La mixité sectorielle : en complément d’un commerce de pied d’immeuble, la Société pourra se positionner sur des immeubles entiers regroupant des espaces mixtes hôteliers, de bureaux ou résidentiels dans un objectif de création de valeur à moyen terme en cédant le cas échéant la partie hors commerce des immeubles acquis ;

  • La Société pourra se positionner en amont sur des opérations de promotion, le développement de nouveaux quartiers ou des repositionnements de gares par exemple ; et
  • La Société pourra capter le développement de la petite logistique urbaine, portée par l’essor des concepts de collecte ou de drive piéton et par la croissance du e-commerce, et la petite logistique péri-urbaine (celle du dernier kilomètre).